KCR Sworn-In as First CM of Telangana

KCR Sworn-In as First CM of Telangana

KCR Sworn-In as First CM of Telangana

K. Chandrasekhar Rao has sworn in as the first Chief Minister of India’s 29th State, Telangana at Raj Bhavan today. 60-year-old KCR took oath of office in Telugu along with 11 Cabinet ministers including his son KT Rama Rao and nephew Harish Rao. Mahmood Ali, T. Rajaiah, Nayani Narsimha Reddy, Etela Rajender, Padmarao, Pocharam Sreenivas Reddy, Mahender Reddy, Jogu Ramanna, Jagadeeswar Reddy. Konda Surekha, Swamy Goud, Padma Reddy, Kova Lakshmi, Chandulal were probables who kept away from Cabinet by KCR. Koppula Eeshwar is expected to be made as First Speaker of Telangana.

As KCR was sworn in, Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted, “India gets a new state! We welcome Telangana as our 29th state…Congrats to K Chandrasekhar Rao Garu on taking oath as Telangana’s 1st CM. My best wishes to people for the state’s development journey.

Special package to Telangana demanded

Hyderabad: TRS floor leader in the Assembly Etela Rajender today demanded that the Centre give a package to Telangana after bifurcation of the State as the region had suffered colossal losses during united Andhra Pradesh government.

Speaking to the media here on Thursday, Rajendar said Telangana State formation was the only solution for all problems and people who fought for Telangana State should play key role in the development of new State.

Hitting out at Seemandhra leaders indirectly, Rajender said nobody should think that Telangana region has no political experts.

CPI floor leader Gunda Mallesh lamented that political parties which had submitted letters to the Centre in favour of Telangana State took a ā€œUā€ turn as a part of improving their vote bank. He called upon the people of Telangana to become active partners in re-building Telangana State.

TRS leader and Peddapalli MP G. Vivek said the Congress has taken a decision in favour of Telangana in 2004 itself and the people supported the party. He questioned as to why the Seemandhra leaders were opposing State bifurcation now. He also claimed that 78 per cent investments made in Hyderabad had come from other States.

TNGOs leader Devi Prasad felt that demand to increase Assembly constituencies in Telangana was not justified. When the Centre was busy to bifurcate the State, the demand to increase Assembly seats is not proper, he said, adding that even after division Article 371(D) should continue.