Race for Telangana CM post hots up

Race for Telangana CM post hots up

Race for Telangana CM post hots up

Hyderabad: With the Cabinet nod for Telangana, there are more than half-a-dozen contenders for the Telangana state Chief Minister’spost.

The jubilant Telangana Congress leaders now expect formation of T state by December as Central Congress leadership is keen to get the Telangana Bill passed during this Winter Session.

It is only matter of  adjusting the schedule of the Parliament’s Winter Session, as the Election Commission decided on Friday to hold elections to five state Assemblies in November-December.

Normally the Winter Session of Parliament commences on November 23 and concludes on December 22. This time, there may be a slight change in the schedule this time owing to Assembly polls.

Several big names are doing the rounds in Telangana Congress circles, including that of Union minister S. Jaipal Reddy who has an honest and clean image and amicable nature apart from seniority in politics.

Panchayat Raj minister K. Jana Reddy, housing minister N. Uttamkumar Reddy and information minister D.K. Aruna are the other contenders from the same community. Deputy Chief Minister Damodar Raja Narasimha is also an important contender for the post.

Among the other names being discussed are former PCC president D. Srinivas and IT minister Ponnala Laxmaiah who hails from a backward community, and civil supplies minister D. Sridhar Babu, a Brahmin.

After formation of Telangana state, the total strength of the Telangana state ministry, including the chief minister, will be reduced to 18 (15 per cent of the total Assembly strength of 119) as per the statute.

If one goes by its present strengths across various parties in Telangana, the Congress will be the largest political party in the new state with 48 MLAs, it falls short of  a simple majority in the house of  119.

Unless the Congress decides to share power with likeminded TRS with 17 members or with MIM which has 7 members, it will be difficult to form the government in the opposition-dominated  Telangana Assembly.

Comments are closed.