Political parties’ candidates for Rajya sabha Polls

Rajya sabha candidates

Rajya sabha candidates

Hyderabad: The last date for filing nominations for Rajya sabha polld is today( January 28) . Scrutiny of applications will take place on 29 and the last date for withdrawals is January 31. Polling for 55 seats in 16 States including Andhra Pradesh would be held on February 7. Results will be announced same evening.

In Andhra Pradesh, elections will be held for six seats. Of this, five are Congress MPs. Each member would require 39 votes to win the election.  TRS, YSRCP and MIM will play a crucial role in this election as the Congress strength in the Assembly has come down from 155 to about 146.

Congress can hope to comfortably win three seats on its own strength while TDP can win two. The balance two seats will depend on who would support whom. The TRS and YSRCP have 17 members each, and the MIM 7. The BJP has 4 seats, CPI 3, CPM 1, Lok Satta 1 and there are 3 independents.

Rebel Congress candiddates in fray for Rajya sabha polls

Eight candidates, including two Congress rebels, filed nomination papers for the six Rajya Sabha seats from Andhra Pradesh today.

Congress’ T Subbrami Reddy, K V P Ramachandra Rao and M A Khan, who have been renominated by the party, filed their papers while Telugu Desam’s Garikapati Mohan Rao and Sitarama Lakshmi also submitted their nominations to Legislature secretary S Raja Sadaram.

Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy, Deputy CM Damodara Rajanarasimha, PCC president Botsa Satyanarayana and some other ministers accompanied the Congress nominees.

Former MP K Keshava Rao, who defected from the Congress, filed his papers as Telangana Rashtra Samiti candidate for the biennial election slated for February 7.

Congress MLC K V Satyanarayana Raju alias Chaitanya Raju and MLA Adala Prabhakar Reddy, too, filed their papers as party rebels in the name of “United Andhra Pradesh.”

Interestingly, two ministers Ganta Srinivasa Rao and Erasu Pratap Reddy were said to have supported the candidature of Chaitanya Raju. “Raju said he will secure the party’s candidature, hence I signed the nomination in his support,” Pratap Reddy said.

Senior-most MLA J C Diwakar Reddy, who had been telling over the past few days that he, too, would be in the fray, backed out of the contest today.

Congress sources claimed that JC opted out to ensure the “Samaikya Andhra” votes did not split. Meanwhile, Satyanarayana said disciplinary action would be initiated against the legislators who filed nominations as rebels.

Action would also be taken on MLAs who supported the rebels’ candidature, he added.

TDP President announces two candidates for Rajya sabha polls

TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu today announced the party candidates for two Rajya seats.

He chose Garikapati  Rammohan and Thota Sitaramalakshmi as final choice after heated  debate in the politburo for over six hours. ‘We are sending common workers to Rajya Sabha’ said Chandrababu Naidu at a late night press briefing.

YSRCP to stay away from Rajya sabha Polls