Andhra Pradesh tops in cash seizures: CEC VS Sampath

Andhra Pradesh tops in cash seizures: CEC VS Sampath

Andhra Pradesh tops in cash seizures: CEC VS Sampath

Hyderabad: Of total cash seized by the election authorities across the country, nearly 46 per cent seizures were made in Andhra Pradesh itself.

Addressing a press conference at Jubilee Hall here Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampath informed that Andhra Pradesh (including Telangana) stands on top in seizure of unaccounted cash since the issue of notification. About Rs 105 crore have been seized by the authorities and 1142 FIRs were issued in this connection. Further, about 3.02 lakh litres of liquor was also seized and over 29,290 cases were also booked.

Sampath informed that 85 Expenditure Observers have been appointed for Telangana and Andhra Pradesh. In addition, 126 Assistance Expenditure Observers, 1104 Flying Squads and 1060 Statistics Assistants have also been deputed. He said that about 33 lakh youth aged between 18-20 years have been enrolled in the recent past. As many as 70,171 polling stations have been set up to facilitate 6.48 crore voters in the State, including 3.22 crore women, to cast their votes on April 30 and May 7. A total of 25,390 polling stations have also been categorised as critical.

The CEC warned the political parties and candidates against making attempts to bribe the voters. He said cases under Section 171 (B) of IPC would be booked against them which would result in imprisonment up to one year, if proved guilty.

Sampath informed about 11-12 lakh EVMs are being used for the ensuing elections. Brand new EVMs are being used for Andhra Pradesh. He said arrangements have been made to replace defective EVMs within an hour. He said single-window permissions are being given to political parties and candidates to conduct meetings and rallies. He also directed the Chief Secretary to ensure uninterrupted power supply, drinking water and other facilities in polling stations on the polling days.

Election Commissioners Dr Naseem Ahmed Zaidi and HS Brahma and Chief Electoral Officer Bhanwarlal were also present.

Earlier, the CEC held review meetings with the representatives of all political parties, Chief Secretary Dr PK Mohanty, DGP B Prasada Rao, District Collectors, SPs and other senior officials.